Skip to main content

Advisory Board

Advisory Board to the Department of Senior Services

As the Area Agency on Aging, the Erie County Department of Senior Services convenes a voluntary group of citizens who provide information, guidance, advice, and support to assist in developing, coordinating, and administering services to older persons.

The Advisory Board, which is mandated by the Older Americans Act, helps conducts annual public hearings; represent the interests of older persons; and reviews and comments on community policies, programs and actions, which affect older persons. The Board is an important link between the community and the Department of Senior Services in communicating the needs and concerns of older adults.

Current members of the Advisory Board are:

Jim Banko - Hamburg

Kristin DiMartino - Tonawanda

Francis McLaughlin - Eden                                                                                                                                                    Mario Pena- Tonawanda (city)

Jennifer Wood - Buffalo

Leonard Vento - Lancaster


Interested in joining?

Consider filling out the application for a future two-year term on the Department’s Advisory Board, acting as the Department’s eyes and ears in the community, communicating the needs that exist, and helping to develop ideas to meet those needs.

Although the Advisory Board does not set policy, the members weigh in on various budgetary and programmatic issues throughout the year.

The Board includes residents from communities across Erie County, working people and retired, over 60 and under – including those who receive senior services and those who want to help others to find their own voices.  

“As an Advisory Board member, I found myself working with dedicated staff and the other Board members on everything from transportation to safe neighborhoods. I would encourage others to consider serving on the Board and assisting the Department of Senior Services in its mission to promote the well-being of older adults in Erie County.”  Rose Marie Hall, recently retired Chair

To obtain an application or for more information call Christine McKenzie at (716) 858-7532, via email at or download application here.