An ABAWD is a person between the ages of 18 and 49 who has no dependents and is not disabled. The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) limits the receipt of SNAP benefits to 3 months in a 36-month period for able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWDs) who are not working at least 80 hours per month, participating in qualifying education and training activities at least 80 hours per month, or complying with a workfare program. Individuals are exempt from the time limit if they are:
- Under 18 years of age, or 50 years of age or older.
- An adult in a SNAP household with a child under 18 years of age.
- A full-time caretaker of an incapacitated person.
- A pregnant woman.
- Physically or mentally unable to work at least 80 hours a month.
- Determined to be unable to work due to substance abuse.
- A recipient of Veterans Affairs disability compensation.
- A recipient of disability benefits from a public or private source, such as Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or NYS disability benefits.
- A recipient or pending receipt of Unemployment Insurance Benefits (UIB).
- A student enrolled in any recognized school, job skills training, or institution of higher educational least half-time and meeting the student eligibility criteria to receive SNAP.
- An applicant for SNAP benefits and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) jointly or in receipt of SSI.
- Employed or self-employed and working at least 30 hours per week or receiving weekly earnings at least equal to the federal minimum wage times 30 (currently $217.50 per week).
Update -- August 2022
New York State has received approval from the United Stated Department of Agriculture (USDA) for a statewide waiver of the federal Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents (ABAWD) time limit for Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2023 (October 1, 2022 through September 30, 2023). Therefore, ABAWDs residing in all areas of New York State are not subject to the ABAWD requirements through September 30, 2023.