Skip to main content

Opiate Epidemic Task Force

About the Task Force

The Opiate Epidemic Task Force was created by Executive Order #014.  The Task Force is composed of seven (7) committees, which will meet regularly and report back to the group.

Task Force Mission:  To provide a framework for organizations and individuals from across the opiate overdose continuum to collaborate, develop, and share best practices through timely sharing of information to assist individuals and their loved ones fighting the disease of addiction and to undertake prevention efforts that educate the community on the dangers of addiction. 

Task Force Brochure

Opiate Task Force Committee Presentations from Task Force quarterly meetings

Task Force Committees

  1. Provider Education & Policy Reform - led by Dr. Paul Updike, Catholic Health and Erie County Commissioner of Health, Dr. Gale Burstein
  2. Community Education - led by Barbara Burns of the U.S. Attorney General’s Office, Western Region of NY
  3. Families and Consumer Support & Advocacy - led by Debra Smith, Parent Advocate
  4. REAP Program - led by Dan Rinaldo of NYNJ-HIDTA (High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area); REAP Brochure
  5. Treatment Providers - led by Erie County Commissioner of Mental Health, Mark O'Brien
  6. Hospitals/ER ROI Project - led by Dr. Joshua Lynch
  7. Naloxone Access - led by Cheryll Moore of the Erie County Department of Health  


  • 24 hour Addiction Hotline 716-831-7007 - Get immediate help, education, information, referrals and assistance  with linking to addiction treatment services (Hotline Flyer - Please post to help inform others) 
  • SAMHSA’s National Helpline - 1-800-662-HELP (4357)
  • 24 Hour Crisis Hotline (716) 834-3131

Related Programs/Information/Resources 


(716) 858-6382

Harm Reduction Home Page